de | en

Helmut Branny

Helmut Branny is a “magician in front of his orchestra“, with the “masterly ability to put even the most sensitive musical idea into practice.” (Sächsische Zeitung). This is just one dimension to the conductor and bass player. As a member of the world renowned Sächsische Staatskapelle Dresden, musical director of the Dresdner Kapellsolisten and Cappella Musica Dresden, he can be considered a researcher and discoverer’ in the field of music. For many years, he has been interested in questions concerning the authentic interpretation of Early Music. He aims to awake and translate the language and stylistic elements of Baroque, Classical and Romantic Music into vivid and authentic sound. In his opinion, musical authenticity depends not just on closely studying the score, but also detailed analysis of the piece’s cultural and musical context. Sure instinct and detailed detection work help Helmut Branny find a way to the composer’s perspective and hence to the quintessence of his music.


With the Dresdner Kapellsolisten, Helmut Branny brings this message to audiences at home and abroad. He is the “first among equals” of the chamber orchestra, founded in 1994. Mainly musicians of the Sächsische Staatskapelle Dresden, they were united by their passion for the historically informed performance practice of the Baroque, Classical and Romantic Music repertoire. Concerts frequently take the Dresdner Kapellsolisten to important halls of Europe and Asia – such as Berlin Philharmonia, Cologne Philharmonia, Mailänder Scala, Tokyo and Osaka – as well as to famous classical music festivals such as Rheingau Musik Festival, Bad Kissinger Sommer, MDR Musiksommer andJanáček-Festival in Ostrava (Poland). From the beginning. both audience and critics were enthusiastic about the orchestra’s stirring interpretations, the vast repertoire and the energetic performance style. Numerous CD recordings give audible proof of this inspiring collaboration.

Helmut Branny is also the conductor of the Cappella Musica Dresden – an ensemble founded in 1995 and driven by its enthusiasm and passion for music of different genres and musical periods. As one of the founders, his approach to music has significantly shaped the ensemble right from the beginning. With enthusiasm and idealism, the Cappella Musica commits themselves to performing an extensive repertoire including diverse styles and time periods. Furthermore, he is a sought-after chamber music partner e.g. for the Akademie für Alte Musik Berlin, Freiburger Barockorchester, Mitteldeutsche Barocksolisten Leipzig and „Les Amis de Philippe“ Bremen. For further projects he has worked together with the cellist Jan Vogler and the conductor Peter Schreier. Contemporary music is yet another field of interest. He conducted several world premieres  e.g. of works by Rainer Lischka, Takashi Jashimatsu and Berthold Paul, and performed Wolfgang Rihm and Kazimeirz Serocki.

The various concert engagements all over Germany and abroad however do not decrease Helmut Branny ́s close connection to Dresden, his home town and former place of studies. Besides being a full-time member of the Sächsische Staatskapelle Dresden, he has taught at the musical college Carl Maria von Weber since 1995, where he has been Professor of chamber music since 2003. His dedication to the important musical centres of Dresden is underlined by numerous concerts in the Church of Our Lady, at the Dresdner Musikfestspiele, as well as the Moritzburg Festival. Over many years a strong collaboration has developed with the famous Dresdner Kreuzchor.

One of the highlights of last season was the musical “Anatevka” at the Dresdner Musikfestspielein the Schauspielhaus Dresden. The Dresdner Kapellsolisten toured to Meran and Brixen performing the “St. Mathews Passion” with the Dresdner Kreuzchor.

He also conducted very successful concerts in the Cologne Philharmonia, the Berlin Schauspielhaus, the Rheingau Music Festival, the Festival Mitte Europa and the Lausitzer Music Summer Festival as well as a tour with the trumpet soloist Alison Balsom in Germany and Austria.


The newly released CD “My Tunes 2” (SONY - Release:June 2010) is a good example of his frequent work in collaboration with cellist Jan Vogler.

Amongst many other concerts next season Helmut Branny will be conducting the Dresdner Kapellsolisten performing the opera “Teofane” by Antonio Lotti at the Händel Festival. One of the numerous CDs in progress will feature concertos and symphonies by Haydn, Vanhal and Mozart.


Helmut Branny received the German Music Award “EchoKlassik 2010” for the recording “Weichet nur, betrübte Schatten” with violist Nils Mönkemeyer.


Last season Helmut Branny conducted the Dresdner Kapellsolisten in numerous concerts e.g. in Munich, Cologne, Bielefeld and for the first time in Maribor and Zagreb. He worked with Matthias Goerne and Jan Vogler, and recorded 2 CDs with Mozart Piano Concerts with Peter Rösel.

In 2013/14 Helmut Branny is invited to concerts throughout Germany, e. g. in Berlin Philharmonia, Munich and Essen. One of the highlights is a performance in the Dresden Semper Opera with works by Rihm, Britten and Mozart. Two more CDs with Mozart Piano Concerts with Peter Rösel enlarge the series for the Label Oktavia Records. Recordings of baroque Christmas Music (Ars Production) will extend his diverse discography.

At the Weilburger Schlossfestspiele Helmut Branny conducts the Dresdner Kapellsolisten as Orchestra in Residence.


In 2014/15 season Helmut Branny and the Dresdner Kapellsolisten celebrate their 20th anniversary. 2014 will include yet another tour to Japan.


Season 2014/15

de | en

Helmut Branny

Hinter dem Namen Helmut Branny steht ein „Temperamentmusiker“. Ein „Magier vor seinen Musikern“, der es zudem „meisterhaft versteht, die sensibelsten Impulse zu setzen“ (Sächsische Zeitung). Zugleich ist dies nur eine Facette, die den Dirigenten und Kontrabassisten in seiner künstlerischen Arbeit prägt. Helmut Branny ist Mitglied der Sächsischen Staatskapelle, Musikalischer Leiter der Dresdner Kapellsolisten und der Cappella Musica Dresden, zudem ‚Forscher und Entdecker’. Seit langem beschäftigt er sich mit Fragen des werkgetreuen Umgangs und der Aufführungspraxis Alter Musik. Sein Ziel ist es, die sprachlichen und gestischen Elemente des barocken, klassischen und romantischen Musikerbes zu einer lebendigen Klangrede zu bringen. Die Suche nach der musikalischen Wahrheit ist für ihn, neben intensivem Partiturstudium, auch eine tiefe Auseinandersetzung mit geistigen Hintergründen und musikalischem Zeitgeist. Mit philosophischem Feingefühl und detektivischem Gespür versetzt sich Helmut Branny in die Komponisten hinein, um ihre Werke im Kern zu erfassen.

Mit den 1994 entstandenen Dresdner Kapellsolisten bringt Helmut Branny diese musikalischen Intentionen im In- und Ausland zu Gehör. Als ‚Primus inter pares’ leitet er den Klangkörper seit seinem Gründungsjahr. Die Dresdner Kapellsolisten setzen sich hauptsächlich aus Mitgliedern der international renommierten Sächsischen Staatskapelle zusammen. Ein Schwerpunkt ihrer Arbeit liegt auf der lebendigen Interpretation des barocken, klassischen und romantischen Repertoires. Unter dem Dirigat Helmut Brannys gastiert das Orchester regelmäßig in wichtigen Konzertzentren Europas und Asiens – u. a. Berliner und Kölner Philharmonie, Mailänder Scala, Tokio und Osaka – sowie bei namhaften Festivals, z. B. Rheingau Musik-Festival, Bad Kissinger Sommer, MDR Musiksommer, Janáček-Festival in Ostrava. Mit vitalen Interpretationen ihres umfangreichen Repertoires überwinden Dirigent und Ensemble tradierte Hörgewohnheiten, begeistern mit einem spannungsvollen und Energie geladenen Musizierstil. Zahlreiche CD-Einspielungen belegen diese fruchtbare Zusammenarbeit.

Ebenfalls obliegt Helmut Branny die Leitung der 1995 gegründeten Cappella Musica Dresden. Als einer der Mitbegründer haben seine musikalischen Ideen und Ziele das  Ensemble maßgeblich geprägt. Die Cappella Musica widmet sich mit Begeisterung und Idealismus Musik verschiedener Genres und Stilepochen.Aufgrund seiner besonderen Affinität zur Musik ist Helmut Branny ein begehrter Kammermusikpartner u. a. der Akademie für Alte Musik Berlin, des Freiburger Barockorchesters, der Mitteldeutschen Barocksolisten Leipzig, „Les Amis de Philippe“ Bremen. Eine künstlerische Zusammenarbeit verbindet ihn u. a. mit dem Cellisten und Leiter der Dresdner Musikfestspiele und des Moritzburg Festivals Jan Vogler und dem Dirigenten Peter Schreier.

Auch mit der zeitgenössischen Musik setzt sich Helmut Branny auseinander. So brachte er  z. B. Werke der Komponisten Rainer Lischka, Takashi Jashimatsu und Berthold Paul zur Uraufführung und interpretierte Wolfgang Rihm und Kazimeirz Serocki.

Trotz seiner regen Konzerttätigkeit im In- und Ausland ist der bei Dresden geborene Künstler auch mit seiner Heimat- und Studienstadt verknüpft. Neben seiner Mitgliedschaft in der Sächsischen Staatskapelle hat Helmut Branny an der Musikhochschule Carl Maria von Weber seit 1995 einen Lehrauftrag, seit 2003 eine Professur für Kammermusik inne. Sein Engagement für die Impulsgebenden Kulturzentren der Musikstadt führt ihn u. a. an die Frauenkirche, zu den Dresdner Musikfestspielen und dem Moritzburg Festival. Mit dem Dresdner Kreuzchor pflegen Helmut Branny und die Dresdner Kapellsolisten eine langjährige künstlerische Beziehung.

Namhafte Solisten wie Alison Balsom, Albrecht Mayer, Peter Rösel, Francois Leleux, Danjulo Ishizaka, Matthias Goerne, Jan Vogler, Nils Mönkemeyer, Martin Stadtfeld, Gabor Boldoczki, Sergej Nakariakov und Lise de la Salle spielten unter seiner Leitung.

2010 erhielt Helmut Branny den Deutschen Musikpreis „Echo Klassik “.

In der vergangenen Saison stand Helmut Branny bei zahlreichen Konzerten u.a. in München, Köln, Bielefeld und erstmals in Warschau, Maribor und Zagreb am Pult seiner Dresdner Kapellsolisten. Er arbeitete mit Matthias Goerne und Jan Vogler zusammen und nahm 2 CDs der Mozartschen Klavierkonzerte mit Peter Rösel auf.

In der Saison 2013/14 gastiert er deutschlandweit zu Konzerten u.a. in der Berliner Philharmonie, in München und Essen. Höhepunkt ist ein Aufführungsabend in der Semperoper Dresden mit Werken von Rihm, Britten und Mozart. Eine 3. und 4. CD mit Produktionen von Mozarts Klavierkonzerten /Peter Rösel erweitert die begonnene Serie für das Label Oktavia Records. Aufnahmen barocker weihnachtlicher Werke (Ars Produktion) werden seine vielfältigen Einspielungen komplettieren.

Bei den Weilburger Schloßfestspielen ist Helmut Branny Dirigent seines als Residenzorchester agierenden Orchesters.

In der Saison 2014/15 feiert Helmut Branny mit seinen  Dresdner Kapellsolisten 20-jähriges Jubiläum. Wiederum wird er 2014 in Japan gastieren.


Saison 2013/14